From 1995 To The Present: Cricketers Who Have Brought Home The Border Gavaskar Trophy

At last, the Border Gavaskar Trophy has been given to the most valuable player from each season. Since the 1996–1997 season, when the series between India and Australia started to be called the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, it has not only inspired great performances but also strong competition. After watching the cricket score video, the goal of the batters in a test match is to score runs, while the goal of the bowlers is to beat the other team and win. In this article. they talk about who won the Border Gavaskar Trophy as the best player for the whole season.

Nayan Mongia (1996–97) –

After the India-Australia test series was renamed to honor Border and Gavaskar, the first game for the Border Gavaskar Trophy was played. The title of the series was chosen to honor both of them. India and Australia were going to play cricket games at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, which used to be called the Feroz Shah Kotla, from October 10 to 13.

Australia had 182 runs at the end of the first innings. Michael Slater scored the most runs (44), making him the best scorer on the team. India scored 361 runs in the first inning, thanks to the work of Vikram Rathour and Nayan Mongia. Mongia’s career-high score of 152 would need a lot of help, which Sourav Ganguly and Dravid would give him with their combined scores of 66 and 40. After that, the Kangaroos scored 234 runs in the second inning, with Steve Waugh responsible for 67 of those runs. India won the game by seven wickets after being given a target of 56 runs in their fourth innings.

Sachin Tendulkar (1997–98) –

It’s possible that the Master Blaster chose to play against the Australian team because of how well they play and how fierce they are as people. Sachin scored 446 runs throughout 5 innings in the second Border Gavaskar Trophy competition, averaging 111.5. India won the championship by a score of 2-1.

Throughout 5 innings, Tendulkar’s batting scores were 177, 155 (not out), and 0 for 5. This was the best thing he had ever done in his career. Because of this, he can play for the Border Gavaskar Trophy all season long.

 Sachin Tendulkar (1999–2000) –

The Indian superstar would keep up his great play from season 2 into the new year. For six innings and three matches, he would score a total of 278 runs to lead India in run scoring. After Ricky Ponting and Justin Langer, he was the third player in the series to score the most runs.

Harbhajan Singh (2001) –

The competition was dominated by a great Australian team until the second match in Kolkata, India, where they lost to the Indian team. India won a shocking game at Eden Gardens, which helped them win the series with a 2-1 score. Harbhajan Singh was the bowler who took the most wickets in the series. He took 32 wickets for the three tests. He had four 5-wicket hauls and two 10-wicket hauls. His average was 17.03 per inning.

During this particular series, he was so good at getting out Australian batters that they started calling him “the Turbanator.” Because of this, he can play all season long for the Border Gavaskar Trophy. Matthew Hayden would score the most runs in the series, but VVS Laxman would score the most runs for the Indians.

Rahul DraviD (2003–04) –

People started calling him “The Wall” because no one could get past his defense and he was so good at what he did. After four matches, the series was tied 1-1, so India could keep the Border Gavaskar trophy at the end of the fifth season. Rahul Dravid would end up with the most runs for the Indians. He scored 619 runs in 8 innings, averaging 123.80, with a score of 200 and three scores in the 50s.

India beat Australia in the test match in Adelaide, in large part because Rahul Dravid scored 233 runs in the first innings and then 72 runs without being out in the second innings. Because of this, he can play all season long for the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

A. Martyn Damien (2004) –

For the sixth time, the Australian team played in India. In the end, Australia beat India in a four-game test series by a score of 2-1. Damien Martyn would score 444 runs for 8 innings, which is an average of 55.50 runs per inning. Two of his scores would be in the hundreds, and two would be in the 50s. Because of this, he can play all season long for the Border Gavaskar Trophy. Martyn and Michael Clarke, who were both on the winning team, would end up with the most runs, with a maximum of 114 for the two of them together.

 Brett Lee (2007–08) –

During the 2007–2008 season, Australia’s team successfully defended the trophy by winning the home series 2-1 and sweeping the competition. Brett Lee took 24 wickets in 8 innings with an average of 22.58, including a five-wicket haul of 119. This is a big reason why Australia might be able to keep the championship. 

 Ishant Sharma (2008) –

India was able to get the trophy back after winning all four games of the series in 2008. Ishant Sharma would be the most dangerous player on the home team. For seven innings, he took 15 wickets and averaged 27.06 runs per innings. Because of this, he can play for the Border Gavaskar Trophy all season long. 

Sachin Tendulkar (2010) –

If the Maestro did all of those amazing things again in 2010, India would have no trouble keeping the Border Gavaskar trophy. Sachin scored a total of 403 runs in four innings. This gave him an average of 134.33 as India won the series 2-0. Tendulkar’s score went as high as 214 at one point during the series. 

Michael Clarke (2011–12) –

In the tenth and final game of the popular test series, Australia won by a score of 4-0 and took back possession of the trophy. Michael Clarke would be a nightmare for the Indians because he would score 626 runs in just six innings, which is 125.20 runs per inning on average. For the whole series, his best score is 329 not out. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button